Indonesia Visa Requirements

In order to obtain a valid visa to enter Indonesia, foreign citizens must meet the visa requirements and conditions, not only at the time of application but for the entire duration of the visa.

These vary depending on the specific visa requested to travel to Indonesia and on the applicant’s needs and circumstances. Information regarding visa eligibility and requirements for short-term leisure permits will be provided on this page.

Indonesia Visa Policy

In general, it is necessary for holders of foreign passports to obtain an Indonesian visa prior to departure.

Travelers must submit their visa application in advance and provide relevant supporting documents. The application can be completed online or in-person at an Indonesian embassy or consulate abroad, depending on the visa.

However, several exceptions apply, such as:

  • Visa exemptions: Indonesia has agreements in place with governments of several countries around the world. The visa exemption allows citizens of these countries to access Indonesia without a visa for short periods of time.
  • Visa on arrival (VOA): certain travelers can apply for an Indonesian visa directly at designated border crossing points. However, this may result in long queues and waiting times and there is no guarantee that the visa will be approved on the spot.

Visitors from visa-exempt nations should note that visa-free entry is only granted for up to 30 days. It is not possible to extend this deadline.

Moreover, visa exemptions are only valid for those who reach Indonesia for leisure activities such as tourism or visiting friends and family members.

Which Countries Do Not Need a Visa for Indonesia?

In order to be eligible for visa-exempt access, travelers must hold a valid passport issued by one of the over 160 countries with which the Indonesian government signed visa exemption agreements.

Find the Indonesia visa-free nations below:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • Commonwealth of Dominica
  • Comoros
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau SAR
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Island
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • USA
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Please note that visa-free transit is allowed for those passengers who have to pass through Soekarno-Hatta International Airport for less than 24 hours or other airports for less than 8 hours. Changing terminals in Soekarno-Hatta and transiting through Ngurah Rai International Airport requires a visa unless the passenger is from a visa-exempt jurisdiction.

Visa-free entry is not granted to holders of emergency or temporary passports. Moreover, the visa exemption does not apply to British nationals who are not British citizens.

Those planning to travel to Indonesia without a visa should be aware that the visa exemption is only intended for short-term trips. Should visitors from a visa-exempt country wish to stay in Indonesia for longer than 30 days, they will need to apply for a relevant Indonesian visa.

Documents Required for the Indonesian Visa

Those who need an Indonesian visa must submit a range of supporting documents as part of their application. The document requirements will vary depending on the type of visa.

Usually, applicants of short-term permits such as the Tourist visa must provide:

  • An application form completed in all of its parts
  • A copy of a valid and eligible passport
  • The payment of the visa processing fees

Further supporting documentation such as photograph or financial evidence may be necessary depending on the visa.

What Do I Need to Travel to Indonesia?

what do i need for travel to Indonesia

Visa-free travelers must present an eligible passport to the Indian immigration authorities upon reaching the border. The passport must be valid for at least 6 months. They must also hold proof of onward travel such as a return plane ticket.

Indonesian visa holders must provide a copy of their granted visa as well as the same passport they have used during the application, which should be valid for a minimum of 6 months. It is paramount that the information featured on the visa matches the one included in the passport. Further documents may be required depending on the visitor’s specific circumstances.

Visa on arrival applicants must arrive at the Indonesian border with all the documents necessary to obtain the Indonesian VOA as well as the application fee. This is one other reason why many travelers prefer to obtain their visa in advance.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree